Osterlin Library
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The glass castle : a memoir / Jeannette Walls.

By: Walls, Jeannette.
Copyright date: 2005Edition: 1st Scribner trade pbk. ed.Description: 288, [11] pages : portraits ; 21 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 074324754X; 9780743247542; 0743247531; 9780743247535; 0739458213; 9780739458211.Subject(s): Walls, Jeannette | Children of alcoholics -- United States -- Biography | Children of alcoholics -- West Virginia -- Welch -- Biography | Dysfunctional families -- United States -- Case studies | Dysfunctional families -- West Virginia -- Welch -- Case studies | Poor -- West Virginia -- Welch -- Biography | Homeless persons -- Family relationships -- New York (State) -- New York | Alcoholics | Child of Impaired Parents | Family Relations | Homeless Persons | Poverty | West VirginiaGenre/Form: Autobiography.
Contents:
I.A woman on the street -- II. The desert -- III. Welch -- IV. New York City -- V. Thanksgiving.
Summary: In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.
List(s) this item appears in: Memoirs
Item type Current location Call number Copy number Status Date due Barcode
Book Osterlin Library
Stacks
HV5132 .W35 2006 (Browse shelf) 1 Available 33039001387025

Includes a preview of the author's book : Half broke horses.

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.

I.A woman on the street -- II. The desert -- III. Welch -- IV. New York City -- V. Thanksgiving.

1

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

Powered by Koha