NMC Library

The glass castle : a memoir / Jeannette Walls.

By: Walls, Jeannette
Copyright date: 2005Edition: 1st Scribner trade pbk. edDescription: 288, [11] pages : portraits ; 21 cmContent type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeAudience: ChildrenISBN: 074324754X; 9780743247542; 0743247531; 9780743247535; 0739458213; 9780739458211Subject(s): Walls, Jeannette | Children of alcoholics -- United States -- Biography | Children of alcoholics -- West Virginia -- Welch -- Biography | Dysfunctional families -- United States -- Case studies | Dysfunctional families -- West Virginia -- Welch -- Case studies | Poor -- West Virginia -- Welch -- Biography | Homeless persons -- Family relationships -- New York (State) -- New York | Alcoholics | Child of Impaired Parents | Family Relations | Homeless Persons | Poverty | West VirginiaGenre/Form: Autobiography.LOC classification: HV5132 | .W35 2006
Contents:
I.A woman on the street -- II. The desert -- III. Welch -- IV. New York City -- V. Thanksgiving.
Summary: In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.
List(s) this item appears in: Memoirs | PSY 101 Supplemental Reading
Item type Current location Shelving location Call number Copy number Status Date due Barcode
Book Book NMC Library
Stacks HV5132 .W35 2006 (Browse shelf) 1 Available 33039001387025

Includes a preview of the author's book : Half broke horses.

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.

I.A woman on the street -- II. The desert -- III. Welch -- IV. New York City -- V. Thanksgiving.

1

There are no comments on this title.

to post a comment.

Powered by Koha