NMC Library

The evil hours : a biography of post-traumatic stress disorder / David J. Morris.

By: Morris, David J, 1971-Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2015Description: xii, 338 pages ; 24 cmContent type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780544086616; 9780544570320Subject(s): Post-traumatic stress disorder -- United States | Post-traumatic stress disorder -- Patients -- United States -- Biography | Morris, David J., 1971- -- Mental health | PSYCHOLOGY / Psychopathology / Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) | MEDICAL / Mental Health | PSYCHOLOGY / GeneralDDC classification: 616.85/21 LOC classification: RC552.P67 | M68 2015Other classification: PSY022040 | MED102000 | PSY000000 Summary: "In the tradition of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Noonday Demon, a moving, eye-opening exploration of PTSD. Just as polio loomed over the 1950s, and AIDS stalked the 1980s and '90s, posttraumatic stress disorder haunts us in the early years of the twenty-first century. Over a decade into the United States' "global war on terror," PTSD afflicts as many as 30 percent of the conflict's veterans. But the disorder's reach extends far beyond the armed forces. In total, some twenty-seven million Americans are believed to be PTSD survivors. Yet to many of us, the disorder remains shrouded in mystery, secrecy, and shame.Now, David J. Morris -- a war correspondent, former Marine, and PTSD sufferer himself -- has written the essential account of this illness. Through interviews with individuals living with PTSD, forays into the scientific, literary, and cultural history of the illness, and memoir, Morris crafts a moving work that will speak not only to those with the condition and to their loved ones, but also to all of us struggling to make sense of an anxious and uncertain time"-- Provided by publisher.
List(s) this item appears in: Narrative Nonfiction | PSY 101 Supplemental Reading
Item type Current library Shelving location Call number Copy number Status Date due Barcode
Book Book NMC Library
Stacks RC552 .P67 M68 2015 (Browse shelf (Opens below)) 1 Available 33039001353571

"An Eamon Dolan book."

Includes bibliographical references (pages 317-327) and index.

"In the tradition of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Noonday Demon, a moving, eye-opening exploration of PTSD. Just as polio loomed over the 1950s, and AIDS stalked the 1980s and '90s, posttraumatic stress disorder haunts us in the early years of the twenty-first century. Over a decade into the United States' "global war on terror," PTSD afflicts as many as 30 percent of the conflict's veterans. But the disorder's reach extends far beyond the armed forces. In total, some twenty-seven million Americans are believed to be PTSD survivors. Yet to many of us, the disorder remains shrouded in mystery, secrecy, and shame.Now, David J. Morris -- a war correspondent, former Marine, and PTSD sufferer himself -- has written the essential account of this illness. Through interviews with individuals living with PTSD, forays into the scientific, literary, and cultural history of the illness, and memoir, Morris crafts a moving work that will speak not only to those with the condition and to their loved ones, but also to all of us struggling to make sense of an anxious and uncertain time"-- Provided by publisher.

1

There are no comments on this title.

to post a comment.

Powered by Koha